Recent Roadwork at the Intersection of Science and Art

It seems it’s been eons since my last post to Evolutionary Routes; the blog was well on its way to becoming a great case study in fossilization. In light of my insomnolent work schedule these days (on which I blame my tardy posting habits, and I’m sticking to my story), I have decided to try a new strategy to increase the frequency of posts: shorter, bite-sized blog posts. Hopefully these will also be less arduous to read, so there’s something in it for you too as the reader.

Let me kick off with a shameless self-plug that nonetheless explains why posts here have been so scarce lately. As much as I love it nearly to death, I’ve been up to my eyeballs in meeting deadlines for my work. This work consists of natural history art projects involving museum exhibits, books, coin designs and scientific research press release images featuring dinosaurs, all things prehistoric and some extant natural history thrown in for good measure.

A couple of news items from my work, relating evolutionary biology to art stand out in particular.

Paleoart Book

1554470_10151863089800583_1082699473_n

In May, a book exclusively featuring my paleoart was released by Titan Books. Entitled “The Paleoart of Julius Csotonyi: Dinosaurs, Sabre-tooths and Beyond” by Julius Csotonyi and Steve White, this 156-page coffee table book provides a pretty comprehensive exhibit of my artwork that focuses on the use of paleontological science to restore the life appearances of not only dinosaurs, but also entire prehistoric ecosystems. Having been more than a year in the making, its content is mostly artwork, but also contains written contributions from about 20 paleontologists with whom I’ve collaborated to restore prehistoric life. Should you be interested in ordering it, the book is available through most major book sellers online; just search for “The Paleoart of Julius Csotonyi”.

Paleoart Website

Csotonyi-dot-com_01_Acheroraptor

More recently, my natural history art website, csotonyi.com, which has been in developmental limbo for longer than Evolutionary Routes, has also received a much needed revamping. My wife, Alexandra Lefort, has applied her web design wizardy to it to come up with a sleek new look, and we’ve added to it a lot of new pieces of my artwork resulting from close collaboration with paleontologists and museum curators. There’s even a new art blog (because I don’t have enough writing to do on a science blog that I maintain proficiently). My intent is to share mainly art and illustration-themed thoughts there, focusing on how I complete restorations, instead of the more purely science-related topics here.

Both resources focus very heavily on visual restoration of evolutionary biology, and whereas many of the pieces on the website also appear in the book, the book additionally contains reproductions of museum murals that appear only within its pages or on the walls of the host museums. The website will be updated each time I publish a new piece of artwork. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recent Roadwork at the Intersection of Science and Art

  1. Diana MacPherson says:

    I love your new book! I bought then bought a copy for my dad for fatber’s day and wrote a post about it!

  2. Diana, Thank you so much for the glowing review on your post! And I see now the review you’ve written on the glow-in-the-dark prehistoric themed coins that I designed for the Royal Canadian Mint as well. Thank you for that as well! I appreciate the exposure that you’ve kindly given my work on both counts. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the book, and I wish your dad a happy foray through the virtual Cretaceous as well. 🙂

    • Diana MacPherson says:

      My pleasure! You might recall that I first learned you were the artist for the coins when Jerry Coyne posted my pictures of them on his Why Evolution Is True site. Small world that you were alerted to that post too! People really enjoyed that post as they were impressed with the coins.

      • Ah yes, I recall that post now. Small world indeed! I have taken a look at more of your posts, and I notice that you have posted several reviews of my work, including the Tiktaalik coin, with a nice photo pair showing the phosphorescent effect. I’d like to thank you for sharing my work so often with the community! It’s rewarding to see that people enjoy the material that I have so much fun producing. 🙂

      • Diana MacPherson says:

        🙂

Leave a Reply

